The tradition of families getting together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts

It is thought that traditional cultures such as eating together among family members are fading out. Since technology and overworking have taken a huge part in this situation, many negative influences have been appearing. There are several reasons for the above. The main one is increasing using technology at unprecedented rates. Nowadays, many individuals isolate themselves at home by spending most of their spare time on social media, and they make contact with their families and relatives through apps such as WhatsApp and Viber. As a result, they do not go and see each other face-to-face and have dinner as they used to. In past centuries, before occupying our lives with gadgets, families spent most of their time together when they were free. Another reason is that the demand for money today has significantly increased due to this capitalist world. Many households work for longer hours in order to have high income to purchase luxury cars, go on vacation, and mimic celebrities by doing plastic surgeries. Consequently, they do not have enough time to see their families and spend time together. This situation has affected people dreadfully, senior citizens in particular. The first harmful impact is that eroding this cultural family tradition may influence people's mental health and self-esteem negatively. When a person spends most of their time alone, they may face many mental problems such as depression and anxiety. Research has shown that those who are more social are more happier. The second impact is that when people today visit elderly people less as they need more closeness than the young ones, they may also suffer many health issues. In conclusion, many reasons are caused of the disappearing eating together tradition and this condition may affect people's mental health.