Some people believe that in a city, the best way to travel is by car, while others argue that bicycles are a better option. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the last decade, many people have widely debated about an ideal way of transportation in a city. Some agree that by car should be the best transport method, however, others feel that cycling would be an excellent option. Personally, I believe that bicycles are the better option because they could be a sustainable and eco-friendly solution as well as they can be beneficial for individual health. When it comes to travelling by car, it causes several issues, particularly for the environment. One of the major problems is traffic congestion, especially during peak hours. In Perth, for instance, it will take around one hour to travel from the Perth underground to the city centre due to traffic jams. Consequently, this can be a frustrating and exhausting experience for the daily commuters. Another main drawback of cars is that they contribute to environmental pollution as a result of carbon emissions. If many people use cars as their primary transportation method, there will be a high carbon footprint. As a result of this, air pollution can be extremely high in cities. In contrast, cycling offers several advantages. One of the most significant advantages of using bicycles is that it can be identified as a sustainable and eco-friendly option. Since they do not use the fuel they leave no carbon footprint, which is significantly beneficial for nature. If someone chooses to cycle as their mode of transportation, they actively contribute to environmental protection. Furthermore, riding bicycles can be extremely advantageous for an individual's health. To prevent many chronic diseases such as high blood pressure, heart attacks, and diabetes, as an example, many general practitioners would recommend this activity. Another major benefit is that if cycle lanes are available, there will not be traffic congestion so navigation can be very convenient. In many European countries, for instance, many people choose bicycles as their preferred transport method. So, these countries do not seem to experience such traffic congestion in their cities. In conclusion, this essay discussed the cons of travelling by car and the pros of cycling. In my opinion, riding bicycles not only protects the environment but also improves our physical well-being.