Governments should give a basic income to all citizens to live on, whether employed or unemployed. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

A basic income should be allocated to all the residents by governments to fulfil their necessities of life regardless of their employment status. Although well-paid jobs have their significance, I consider that the higher authorities should be considerate enough to ease the life of their citizens. Providing a basic amount of money to all nationals is important for the following reasons. Firstly, nowadays the financial strain is increasing. Everything is becoming more expensive day by day. In such a situation if someone suffers a health issue, for example, a person due to some sudden accident becomes handicapped and loses his job, if at this time the higher authorities provide the person with some health subside or some money, it will become much easier for him/her to manage their lives. Secondly, due to advancements in the field of information technology, a lot of machinery is replacing humans, leading to a higher rate of unemployment. To illustrate this, my sister recently lost her job in packaging department because a robot has been introduced at her workplace for that purpose, and being a resident of a developing country, she has no such facility to contact, so she is having a very tough time. Finally, to get a decent job, one must have a good education level and getting education is becoming difficult these days due to its high cost, thus even a lot of gifted students are compelled to leave their higher studies, ultimately making it almost impossible for them to compete in the job market. To illustrate it further, one of my cousins, being unaffordable had to leave his university and despite being smart, he is still unemployed and is not able to live a good standard life. Therefore, I think that governments must provide a handsome amount of money to their residents in order to ensure the availability of food, education and residential facilities to all the citizens. In conclusion, although people have their views, I think that the higher authorities should make a committe to address these issues and should emphasise to provide a basic amount of money to all its citizens whether employed or unemployed in order to make life worth living for them.