Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams like football, while other people think that taking part in individual sports like tennis or swimming is better. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

One school of thought holds that there are a variety of advantages to joining in team sports, like football, while others believe that it is more regarding playing solo activities. This essay attempts to shed light on both perspectives before concluding that I am in favor of the former notion. On the one hand, some people think that solo sports could be advantageous to a certain extent. Firstly, taking part in individual sports could bring more benefits of mental health for players. There is more time to practice and practice more often because there is no help from each other, so it will have to work more. Secondly, playing sports alone helps people to practice independence. There is no one to remind them to practice and no one to motivate them, so they must develop self-discipline and cultivate perseverance. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that playing sports in teams has more merits. One reason is that by taking part in groups, participants could be able to make new relationships. In addition, team members are always cheerful and supportive throughout the game, we can talk together and share experiences with each other, such as goals, skills, and sometimes it could be a lifestyle. Another reason is that we can develop their collaboration and social skills. A prime example of this is a study published by Oxford University which revealed that social skills are much more refined in athletes who participate in group sports. This is because they have to communicate with teammates more to discuss strategy and how to play, moreover, when playing sports with more people, it will be more controversial rather than playing alone, so players need to practice the ability to handle situations it is good to not occur in conflict. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that while individual activities may be rewarding monetarily, developing social skills through team sports is much more important. I believe that humans are social creatures and developing social skills is essential in our lives.