Should governments make decisions about people's lifestyle, or should people make their own decisions?

As a result of a pluralistic society, there are manifold forms of lifestyles in a country. Some people argue that the government should restrict people's behaviours and form a certain kind of lifestyle as the norm, while others believe that they should have the right to choose the way they live. In my opinion, in a democratic society citizens should have the right to live according to their preferences, and this cannot be controlled by the government. It has been widely acknowledged that individuals should have the right to choose their lifestyles. This is because that the salient purpose of forming a government is to deal with domestic public problems or global issues, which are hard to achieve by individuals, but not to limit people's ways of living. Although few personal actions that may put a premium on inadequate cultures must be constrained by the authorities concerned, the way that people live should be decided by themselves according to their wills. Furthermore, it behoves the government to act like an assistant instead of a decision-maker in terms of personal custom. There are several ways that the government can do to help people enjoy their own lifestyles, and one of which is that the government can support people with similar tastes in organising big events. For example, Taiwan is home to Asia's largest gay pride parade, while eminently unacceptable in the past, and this should be attributed to the open-minded government that values the diversity of society the most. In conclusion, while it is true that some bad behaviours should be regulated and banned, overall society should be diversified and people must have the right to enjoy their own lifestyles.