Some people believe that it is a good idea to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The fact that information plays a predominant role in a wide range of areas such as scientific research, business, and the academic world has led to an idea to monetize it. However, in my opinion, monetization of such resources shouldn’t be encouraged and we’ll look at the reasons for that in this essay. To begin with, advancements in the scientific field and education would happen at a faster pace if we share knowledge. The underlying reason for this belief is that research and business solutions will get improved due to constant feedback when more people have access to the information. It will provide equal opportunity to humans all over the world no matter if they belong to a developed or underdeveloped nation. For instance, sharing the new medical advancements with underdeveloped nations has allowed them to make healthcare affordable for their citizens. On the other hand, some organizations try to conceal information as they consider it vital for their survival. They believe that they have invested resources in a scientific direction and they should get the benefits of their investment. I believe that these fears are unnecessary as technology is changing at a rapid pace these days and without sharing it does not get the necessary attention to become successful. A better way to reward investment is finding possible ways to get revenue by mutual agreements based on incentives. For example, various companies have shared their vaccine research with overseas companies so they can make vaccines locally based on mutual agreements. To conclude, sharing knowledge helps us to build mature and sustainable solutions that last for a long time, and fears of not doing so are unwarranted.