The continued rise in the world’s population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time.

Do you agree with the statement? What are the causes of this continued rise? The world’s population has already crossed the 7 billion mark. Research suggests that the doubling time of humans has come down to less than two decades. Thus, I strongly agree that the rising population is the biggest crisis faced by humanity. Let us take a look at the effects and causes of the same. The exponentially increasing human race has created a strain on the naturally available resources. This is turn has led to the exploitation of mother earth. Deforestation, industrialisation and the resultant global warming have deteriorated our climatic conditions. Furthermore, people in underprivileged nations still have to fight for basic human necessities such as food, water and shelter. Therefore, this reiterates the fact that the surge in the number of people worldwide will ultimately lead to our own demise. There are multiple reasons that can be cited for this sudden growth spurt. Firstly, the birth rate has largely exceeded the death rate. This may be because of the fact that man has found medicines or vaccines for most of the deadly diseases which have improved our life expectancy. Secondly, illiteracy is still a major factor for uninhibited population growth in South-Asian and African countries. Also, there is limited knowledge about contraception in this particular society. Additionally, the governments in these nations are unable to generate enough awareness and provide sufficient contraceptive facilities to the citizens in need. In conclusion, most of the problems faced by humanity can be largely attributed to the ever-increasing growth of homo sapiens. Man has had to find new options In order to sustain such a huge number of people. To sum up, there is absolutely no doubt that one fine day, this growing menace will consume all of humanity as a whole.