It Is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, students prefer to have a year gap between high school and university, as it gives them ample time to decide on what they want to pursue further. However, there are only a few people who actually make use of this time and others might still be struggling to choose a career. The below paragraphs will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of following this trend. The major advantage of having a year off is getting the time to think about various career options that are available today. At times, the youngsters are not clear of what they want to do and they might end up choosing a profession that their parents recommend or maybe due to peer pressure. For instance, a teenager might want to get admission to the same university as his best friend without analysing his interests. On the contrary, when they get enough time to think about their likes and dislikes, they try to make better decisions. Like, in this time, they can try different courses, seminars online which can help them decide which career path they should follow instead of just following the crowd. Conversely, this has its own demerits as well. Firstly, not everyone has the focus and commitment to utilise idle time. They might get lost in their dream world; they might still be confused and eventually, they will end up making wrong decisions. Secondly, they can get influenced by some alternative path of making money like gambling. Additionally, they can lose their interest in studies due to the long gap. To sum up, there are numerous advantages and disadvantages of taking a year off from studies. However, under proper guidance students can make use of this opportunity. They can spend time on part- time jobs and online courses to have a better insight into professionalism and thus, it can help them choose a better career path.