Some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching TV and they should be encouraged to watch TV both at school and at home. To what extent you agree or disagree?

It is true that some television programmes have been recognised as an effective method of learning because the audio-visual information can attract students’ attention and engage their interest. In my opinion, I understand the educational value of watching TV, but I do not agree that increasing screen time is a good idea. There are three main reasons why I argue against that viewing more TV can help young people learn more effectively. Firstly, too many screen hours can interfere with students’ study, and they may not be able to concentrate on academic curriculums, a problem which can lead to poor grades. Secondly, children also do not have spare moments to participate in practical activities that enhance hands-on abilities, such as planting, painting and carving. These activities can promote brain development, which will further boost the effectiveness of learning. Finally, pupils may spend several hours sitting in front of the box every day, and they are not willing to play games and do sports with peers; as a result, they may suffer obesity, bad eyesight or fatigue. Because of this, they do not have enough energy to cope with the demands of schooling and lose self-confidence gradually. On the other hand, although I acknowledge that some informative television programmes may have positive influences on young people's study, this information can only be the complement that they have learned at school.The main advantage of television programmes is that children are exposed to a world of knowledge. However, sometimes the knowledge is too complex for children to understand, and it cannot meet children’s demands at different age range. For example, a foreign language channel can help teenagers improve their foreign language abilities slightly, but it is too difficult for young kids who are without any foundation of foreign languages to understand it. Therefore, it is a waste of time for those young kids to watch it. I believe that students should spend most of their time on school courses, because those courses are more scientific and systematic, which can lead them to progress gradually and to learn effectively. To sum up, my view is that extensive screen viewing will have an adverse impact on children’s academic performance and their health; hence, parents and teachers should impose restrictions on children’s video viewing, rather than endorse this habit.