Some people believe that too many resources and attention are devoted to the protection of wild animals and birds. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Preserving wildlife, especially endangered species, has recently been a hot topic of discussion. While certain demographics hold protecting wild animals and birds is being overemphasized, others argue unless they are conserved properly, the earth’s biodiversity would be seriously damaged. In my opinion wildlife protection is of crucial importance leading to the well-being of the life on the planet. To begin with, some people, adhering to a Darwinian point of view, consider the effort put on the preservation of the endangered species an unnecessary burden to take. They believe human beings cannot and should not be interfering with natural selection. Mother nature has been favouring species that are capable of coping with their environment, and has been brutally eliminating those that are incapable of adapting to the changing circumstances, and the 99% of the species which have become extinct through the course of life on the planet is a mere proof to this stance. Therefore, they argue allocating too many resources and meddling with the process of natural selection, which has worked for millions of years, is rather pointless, and if certain species are here to stay, they would be definitely favoured by nature. Conversely, many environmentalists, who take a holistic perspective regarding life on earth, argue life of all species is highly dependent on each other, and the extinction of certain species would have an absolute detrimental effect on the existence of others. For instance, research shows that if wasps become extinct, the whole life on the planet will be eradicated in some 10 years. Moreover, in most cases, their extinctions are the mere consequence of human activities that could be controlled to a considerable extent. Thus, devoting significant amounts of resources and attention not only is necessary, but is inevitable if we want humankind to thrive on the planet. To recapitulate, there are opposing views regarding the allocation of resources to wildlife conservation. While some people elect to take a Darwinian outlook and leave the existence of species to the natural selection process, others refuse to underestimate the role played by every wildlife family in the orchestra of life on the earth. I believe it is entirely imperative to be so much concerned about wild animals’ existence.