Most medical doctors want to work in cities where they will make a lot of money. Yet in many rural areas there are not enough doctors. What are the reasons for this problem? How can it be solved?

With a gradual increase in health problems due to unhealthy lifestyles, the need for doctors has also risen. Further, there are a limited number of doctors who intend to serve the human civilization, without the appropriate compensation. In the following paragraphs, I will explore the possible reasons for medical professionals' desire to make more money and refrain from serving rural areas. I shall also highlight a few potential solutions to the issues. To start with, medical professionals go through a rigorous curriculum to achieve their stature. There can be innumerable reasons for doctors' desiring for money and not visiting the rural areas. Firstly, achieving a doctorate requires a humungous effort and dedication besides extensive monetary resources. To explain this further, MBBS is a long duration course, specifically in India, and demands money to pay the fees for each semester. Moreover, another reason for the lack of medical professionals in the countryside, lies in the fact, that people belonging to the countryside hold limited or no education, and hence believe in superstitions and myths. To elaborate more, despite medical problems, rural people refrain from visiting a doctor. The issues mentioned above demand serious measures in order to maintain a sustainable ecosystem. A potential solution to the problem related to compensation can be managed at the governmental level. To specify further, the policymakers should subsidize the fees of earning a medical degree, and also incentivize medics to serve rural areas. Parallelly, campaigns should be organized to educate the rural population about medical urgencies and the significance of visiting a doctor. In conclusion, the reasons mentioned above hold a high degree of severity and raise a matter of concern. Owing to the earnestness of the situation, the proposed resolution is a multifaceted approach and will demand an extensive effort but holds the capability of homogenizing the medical care of the country.