There are severe social consequences to housing shortages in cities and only the government can solve these problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The notion of myriad social matters arising the shortage of housing in urban areas has been progressively contentious and some advocate that they are solely pragmatically remedies by the government. In my opinion, whilst their viewpoints seem legitimate because private sectors in this area are low and the government is capable of bearing the burden of responsibility. The most frequently cited rationale for the limited support from private enterprises is profit focuses objective. This argument rests on the fact that real estate in construction firms is driven to generate profit which is purely inclined towards serving the wealthy. This can be apparently seen in lavish apartments in New York City, which are constructed at the expense of government housing projects. In addition, the impoverished citizenry is forced out of their home and this drags them further from their work, thus triggering a wide breadth of social instability. Albeit conceding the private businesses have no responsibility, the government intervention plays a pivotal role in containing these consequences to scarcity of houses. This is predicated based on the assumption that the governments construct infrastructures themselves using taxes or bids from construction companies. The clearest evidence of this can be seen in various undeveloped or poorly planned areas for new houses where the private housing developers are predisposed to set foot in and bid. Accordingly, these areas are often unavailable for commercial exploitation which provides governors more power over business moguls. Hence, the governments having full liability confers a valid standpoint as they can generate new residential areas with affordable prices for their citizens. In conclusion, whilst private companies are not concerned about social aspects into account as the government is the key catalyst for all housing options. From my point of view, I personally reckon that the enforcement agencies and private city planners should enact holistic approaches and strike some balance in providing convenient and affordable homes.