The government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens’ health rather than on protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial idea heating a debate over the fact that the authorities ought to fund more money for healthcare research instead of environmental protection. I would contend that the state’s coffer needs to balance both aspects to enhance citizens’ living standards. Undisputedly, the government has to invest in medication research which is the backbone facet to enhance people’s health in every area. Obviously, the development of society can lead to the rise of novel and unprecedented diseases that completely threatens citizens’ health.. For instance, during the covid-19 period, the amount of state investment plays a significant role in the research and production of drugs that reduce mortality. As a result, it is undeniable that the state’s coffers should be spent on healthcare to revamp people’s health conditions. Although the significance of medication is widely acknowledged, the government still needs to fund environmental protection. The environment heavily impacts people’s healths that depend on a myriad of elements such as air, water, and soil. However, almost all ecosystems are jeopardized, leading to some serious diseases such as lung cancer, cardiovascular disease. For example, according to The World Health Organization estimates that 9 out of 10 people worldwide are breathing air with high concentrations of pollutants, leading to 7 million deaths globally from air pollution. Hence, the government ought to spend money on environmental conservation to have some prompt action with a view to protecting people’s lives. To sum up, the authorities should focus on both medication research and environmental protection that have a crucial role to play in citizens’ health.