Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on punishment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued by some individuals that for every criminal activity, there has to be a specific punishment while other people believe that circumstances and personal reasons during criminal activities, have to be considered while the decision is taken. This essay agrees that for every type of crime, an exact penalty should be set. On one hand, some people believe that a person who has committed a crime should be punished directly based on his crime level because if a guilty person is penalized based on certain punishment, he will not commit that crime again. This essay believes that if governments were setting some radical punishments for different types of crime, criminals would know their acts' future consequences. For instance, in Saudi Arabia, cutting one arm is the consequence of robbery. So, the stealing rate in there is too low. On the other hand, others think that a guilty person would not be judged and punished based on what he was doing and his motivation and personal situation should be considered by judges. Although some people are committing a crime unintentionally for running away from being poor, the vast majority of them are decent in their normal life. So, setting an exact punishment like setting for real criminals is not fair. This essay disagrees that because if governments did not act radically in these cases, most real guilty people would learn how to escape from real punishments that they deserve. For example, in Switzerland, if someone robes from a store, they will not go to prison to understand their act's consequence, instead they are being forced to work for NGOs'. In conclusion, some individuals believe radical laws to penalize criminals are essential, however, some others believe that judges should consider criminal motivation and other circumstances. But, setting extreme rules not only would be more beneficial but also helps criminals to not commit a crime again.