Some people believe that the purpose of education is to prepare individuals to be useful members of society. Others say it helps them to achieve personal ambitions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, many believe pupils should be educated to become an asset to society, while others argue that academic learning is beneficial for their personal growth. In my opinion, both statements have their own benefits, however, it should be the individuals' decision to opt for their educational courses. On the one hand, it is believed by many that there is a huge demand for skilled trades such as healthcare, science and technology to fulfil the requirements of society, and educational institutions should focus on more courses that are based on in-demand skills. Moreover, having education in required fields not only prepares an individual to be a useful member of society but also enables them to get greater job opportunities which lead them to earn higher wages; for instance, a study conducted in London found that 70% of people earn more as they work for social services such as doctors, nurses etc. In contrast, there are some people out there who argue that students should learn to achieve their personal goals rather than focusing on what society wants. Education plays a pivotal role in shaping a person's future; therefore it is essential to let that person decide what his career ambitions are. To exemplify, children—who get a chance to pursue their studies on the basis of their area of interest— tend to enhance their career development and ultimately earn satisfaction. To conclude, although people may vary in their views, I believe that educational learning is an essential part of children's lives, and it should be their decision if they want to serve society by choosing in-demand courses such as healthcare and science or if they want to focus on their personal goals.