‘Prisons are an expensive way of making bad people worse’ – To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Punishment is often imposed as a consequence of wrongdoings. Locking criminals behind bars is one of the common approaches, however, many people consider this practice as an expensive way of making things worse. I totally disagree with this statement and will provide further details to substantiate the same in the course of the essay. To begin with, confinement is one of the major reasons that stops several people to commit any crime due to their fear of spending years in confinement. This will have a negative impact on their life as it puts them away from their loved ones. When they experience prison time in an alone and miserable environment, they tend to strive towards better prospects after their release. For example, there are numerous convicts who learn the value of their independence and seek a stable life. Furthermore, it is known that the convicts are from a disturbing social background and lack basic ethical values, such as integrity, hard work, and individual responsibility. Having to spend time in jail might give them the opportunities to reflect upon themselves. In addition to this, they earn their food and basic needs by physical labour, resulting in a better understanding of responsibility, particularly in juveniles. Moreover, there are a few prisons that offer education in order to attain the skills required in the future. For instance, prisons in various developing countries have initiated education for juveniles in terms of skills, such as arts and crafts which might be beneficial to lead a normal life. To conclude, although it is believed that the capital dedicated to locking convicts behind bars is an unnecessary way and will result in deteriorating the situation by increasing criminal activity, it appears the individuals who commit crimes are offered this opportunity to value their freedom and learn skills encouraging them to live and provide social mobility. After a thorough analysis of the topic, I believe that prison time is an effective way to control criminal activity.