Most people agree that money cannot buy happiness. Why is happiness difficult to define? How can people achieve happiness?

young people commonly associate wealth with happiness, although the elderly argue that the latter has no monetary value attached to it. This essay will discuss that it is almost impossible to describe a satisfactory life because it is subjective. I will also discuss that we can find a sense of fulfilment by simply becoming content with what we have. To begin with, throughout our lives, we encounter different experiences and have equally differing expectations, this presents challenges as to what the true definition of happiness is. We are often made to believe that the purpose of achieving an education is to get employment through which we earn a wage and are able to provide for our basic needs, hence living a comfortable and happy life., However we also live amongst non-employed people whose ways of life seems satisfying.While having a lot of money is able to solve our materialistic problems, it doesn't necessarily add up to a sense of fulfilment. Celebrities, for example, have accumulated wealth and property, however most are struggling with depression. One of the best ways for us to feel happy with our lives is to find satisfaction in the little we have.We spend a big part of our lives trying to make ends meet, sometimes we reach our goals and other times we actually fail. By appreciating the small achievements in our academics and careers, we find a place of belonging. In my profession for instance, doctors are among the least paid in the public service sector. However, by restoring health and saving lives, we feel valued and usually retire home contented with our contribution to society. To sum up,it is difficult to conclude that money buys happiness since many people have a different description of what true joy is, we can all find solace in the things we do passionately and also find meaning in the property we own.