Government should spend money on railways rather than roads.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The state expenditure on railway lines and roads has been a hotly-debated topic that often divides opinion.Some people claim that the ruling government should spend money on railways. Whereas,others are of the opinion that they should spend money on roads.In my opinion,expenditure should be allocated to train transport because they are eco-friendly and cheap comparatively. There are many benefits associated with train facilities. To begin with,trains do not pollute the environment as compared to vehicles which emit toxic gases,and also what makes the situation dare is that whenever there is traffic gums. Consequently, many toxic gases are produced which eventually accumulate and contribute to global warming. In addition, train fare charges are pocket-friendly meaning they are able to allow passengers to pay less compared to bases. Moreover,they transport a big number of passengers thus the cost is evenly distributed. Thus, the railway not only improves our environment but also is a cheaper option. On the contrary, road transport is equally important and the state should also allocate some expenditure. Firstly,roads are accessible and available in many parts of the country compared to the train. For instance, in the northeastern part of Kenya which is,remote the only mode of transport is by road. Furthermore,many individuals can travel at will meaning they can decide to ride themselves when the need arises as opposed to training which you have to travel to the railway station and wait for routine time. Therefore, road transport is important as they are easily accessible and convenient for the general public to use. To sum up,the government should allocate a considerable amount to building enough railway transport in order to improve the environment and reduce the effects of road transport.