Some believe that advances in technology are increasing the gap between rich and poor while others think the opposite is happening. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Technology has advanced in leaps and bounds around the world. Some believe it has increased social divide in the society, one reason for it is loss of income due to replacement of workers by advanced machines.While others are of the opinion that gap is decreasing due to increased job opportunities by utilizing Apps.In my opinion, technology has decreased the distance between the upper and lower class. This essay will discuss both perspectives and high-light how technology is responsible for bringing the society closer. On one hand,newly launched machines are increasingly replacing human workforce.These machines are making life easier and are designed to decrease the physical workload. Additionally,they are functioned to work non-stop without breaks,effectively leading to job loss and no income for the workers. For instance,according to a survey, installation of ATM machines in the banks led to unemployment of 25% of its employees. Moreover, lack of jobs in their field of expertise led to financial crunch,forcing these workers to take-up menial tasks. Hence,replacing employees with technically advanced machines widened the rift between the rich and poor. On the other hand, technology is responsible for bringing people of all classes on one common platform.More employment opportunities are generated by organisations,who develop Apps and train people,providing them the opportunity to learn and earn. For example,Uber company ties up with local auto drivers and provide technical training to them. This knowledge gained during the training sessions enable the auto drivers to earn more income than what was earned previously and also make them tech- savy.These are the reasons how the social gap is slowly deceasing. To conclude, although technically machines are responsible for loss of income to poor people; however,proper utilization of this technology has provided more job opportunities,higher pay to poor people slowly elevating their status in the society.