Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a big difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

The threat to the environment is a major issue facing the world in recent times. The role played by corporate organizations as well as the government will determine what success we achieve in preserving the environment. I believe all hands must be on deck including each of us to have a lasting solution to the menace. To begin with, The government has a major role to play in ensuring that the world is protected. Since they have the power to create rules, they can enact laws that will make it a criminal offence to be involved in any activities that will harm the surroundings. For instance, legislation can be made to compel manufacturing plants to cut down the emission of gas into the atmosphere. Furthermore, Manufacturing corporations can be encouraged to use sustainable energy like solar power or wind turbines to power their factories and offices. This is a practice common in countries like France and other parts of Europe. In addition, manufacturers should be advised to use packages that are bio-degradable for their products. With all these measures, the harm done to the environment will be reduced to the barest minimum. The job of conserving the environment is not restricted to the government and large corporations alone. Individuals have a very important role to play. In a country like Nigeria where people in the rural area depend largely on wood as a source of energy, this habit should be discouraged because it leads to dessert encroachment and heavy flooding during the rainy season. Also, individuals should travel less by cars because of emissions. We should encourage other means of transportation such as bicycles. This will make us fitter and also conserve the earth. Our role as individuals is to educate ourselves on how we can preserve our world and desist from activities that will harm it. In conclusion, when it comes to improving our world, it is our collective responsibility to make sure that the earth is safe and habitable. The companies and the government will not achieve much success if each of us refused to play our roles.