Some people say that you can learn more about another country by watching television programmes and films about it than by actually visiting it. How true is this statement? Is there anything you can learn about another country by visiting it that cannot learn by watching programmes and films about it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

Some views say that it is more effective to learn about foreign cultures through television shows and films instead of going directly to other countries. In my opinion, I suppose this statement is wrong in some aspects. And there are a few things that holidaymakers can explore beyond their homes that TV viewers cannot get by looking at the screen. On the one hand, TV programs normally provide viewers with outstanding aspects about countries. First, audiences can only see what the TV shows have staged, not the reality in that country. Secondly, studying about a country through films can sometimes be incorrect about some information. For instance, the programs will introduce inhabitants in the nation who are very friendly but when viewers visit, they may find it difficult to interact with and communicate with local dwellers. In addition to the cuisine, it is very delicious and unique, but for visitors, it might not be suitable to enjoy. On the other hand, holidaymakers can experience things which are not well introduced on TV. For instance, about cuisine, looking through the screen cannot help travelers feel the taste of the food or the unique games of that country which they can only play when visiting in person. Or folk festivals, audiences just see their activities through films but when they visit, they realise the meaning of that event In my opinion, therefore, directly traveling to the country will help the public understand it better. Besides, there are also interesting and curious things that visitors can experience that cannot be enjoyed when looking through the screen.