Some people say the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Other say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A number of commentators have expressed the view that the disappearance of flora and fauna is the biggest danger to the environment. A contrasting view is that some other environmental problems are more serious. However, I strongly agree with the latter statement because many problems such as pollution and the associated implications are the most devastating challenges for our environment. Those who argue that the extinction of some species has a detrimental effect on the climate, tend to focus on the premise that the flora and fauna of a region are the symbols of its recognition. According to them, in order to balance the ecological system, each and every species has a significant role. Tigers, for instance, have been disappearing from some regions. As a result of which, the number of prey to this species such as deers or goats has been rising in those areas. This leads to the disappearance of many plants and this indirect loss of plants witnesses various detrimental impacts on our environment in the form of global warming, rising sea levels and droughts. However, others myself included consider that some other issues like pollution have more negative effects on the environment because increasing levels of carbon emissions make the air unbreathable. Also, the outcomes of various research suggest that air quality in metro cities has been deteriorating for the last few decades to a great extent. For this,the main culprit is the ever-growing volume of city traffic. In conclusion, while the extinction of some species has negative impacts on the environment, I am convinced that pollution like disease has created havoc on our environment. Therefore, this problem should be considered as an urgency.