Most famous athletes sign contracts to promote/advertise certain products. Do the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

Many popular sports players endorse some products, this has both upsides and downsides but I believe that the negative effects overshadow its positive effects. To start with, advertising products benefit only sportspeople and the companies of the products, they receive a lot of money from this. The sportspersons will have another way to get revenue other than signing contracts with the clubs, and the companies will have more consumers because of the popularity of sports players. For example, some celebrities were reported about their properties, a lot of them were rich and one of the reasons is that they do some adverts for some products However, the disadvantages are much more than the advantages, not only will the customers over purchase something, but it will also make the athletes have less time on their practice. Many people who support sports players, tend to buy too many quantities of the products, even though some products are not that important to buy, such as beers that were promoted by one Indian football player. Another downside is that if they have to go somewhere to shoot for some ad, they will have less time to practice for their performance. For instance, some players were interviewed by some news agencies, and they said that they had little time to do some practices altogether because some people in their group have other works to do. In conclusion, famous sportspeople should not take a role in advertisement since it will make their fans buy too many useless things, and it will also make them hardly practice with all people in the team.