Write about the following topic. Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that promoting a product motivates people to purchase items that are not needed. While some agree with the idea, others think that they give information about the products which many make our lives better and I completely agree with this notion. Firstly, whether to buy or not buy a product is an individual's choice. Advertisements have transformed to a great extent from what they were before, thanks to technology and improved telemarketing. There was a time when information about new products was only available in a broucher that came with the daily newspaper. Fortunately, as TV and the Internet became ubiquitous, we can find any information and availability of new products in a short time which will help people to plan and make a decision fast. For example, in 2011 I was unaware a particular laptop I was interested in was available in my locale. Which I only came to know upon advertisement; I saw it and bought it the same week which then went on to make my college life much better. Had I not seen it, I would not have known about the product. Secondly, I understand why some people might think that it makes them buy things that they might not need. In the recent past, targeted advertising has been rampant which is a type of promotion focussing on one person. For example, when I visit a particular website for the first time, the cookies on the site remember that I visited this webpage and try to suggest those items multiple times on multiple platforms. This kind of annoying ad will sometimes push an individual to buy things in an instant without realizing it. Therefore, in these kinds of,situations people must be careful and be patient and find some technical solutions to avoid seeing those advertisements like using an ad-blocker will prevent any promotions on that website. In conclusion, while there are some actual disadvantages to promoting some products, most of the other products promotions are actually very informative and can not be ignored. Thus, I agree with the aforementioned idea that it presents information that can help our lives become better.