In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the cause of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

As a result of overweight and obesity, there has been a significant concern about individuals’ physical and mental well-being. I believe the primary reasons for this are attributed to excessive working hours and a lack of fitness facilities. In order to address the issue, the government could play a pivotal role in reducing working hours as well as increasing the facilities. To begin, the main rationale for declining people’s level of fitness is firmly tied to the overworking culture. It is quite common for full-time employees to devote to their work for more than 50 to 60 hours weekly, which is not feasible to have a good balance between work and life. As a result of these prolonged working hours and severe strains stemming from work, they would not have adequate energy and time to do exercises. Another noticeable reason for being overweight and obese would be that there are not a sufficient number of facilities for a workout. Especially, in light of the rapid urbanisation, many parks and natures have been disappearing, which resulted in depriving people of opportunities to go for a walk and run. So as to combat these two possible barriers, it is the government that needs to implement some meaningful strategies. Firstly, the government could legitimately constrain weekly working hours to ensure that people do not work excessively. For instance, they could impose stringent fines on those companies who have made workers work for more than the restricted working hours. Additionally, by being wary of people’s health, not only does the government need to keep parks, playgrounds, and hiking areas, but they could also hold many sports competitions and festivals to foster people’s physical well-being. In conclusion, while I argue that two striking reasons for people’s overweight and decline in well-being would be a heavy working culture and a shortage of fitness facilities they could be resolved by government intervention such as an introduction of working policy and provision of enough facilities to people.