Some people think watching TV and films makes children more creative. Others think that it can actually lower their creativity. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Several individuals imagine that observing television programs causes kids to be innovative whereas the other outlook is that it reduces their innovativeness. I tend to conform to the first view but both will be discussed in this essay. Firstly, when children watch TV, they can learn and copy fresh skills for doing many things like art, music, language and so forth. Furthermore, certain shows on the screens are actually dedicated to harnessing creative skills. For example, SABC has a program that teaches kids how to make crafts. Many learn craft-making as early as pre-school and sell some of their products in the streets of Cape Town with the assistance of their parents. On the other hand, however, TV sets can hinder children's creative development because when they spend time on shows, all they want to do is to copy what they see instead of developing independent innovative aptitudes. Secondly, some of the films are addictive, leaving young people with less and less interest to learn other things. For example, I started preventing my daughter from watching Pepper Pig because I realised that she was no longer interested in learning English accents other than those used in the cartoon. When I did this, she suddenly became comfortable speaking in Irish and Canadian accents. In conclusion, therefore, I concur with those people who think that watching televised and filmed content makes children more creative. I am basing my opinion on the factors discussed in the essay above. Nevertheless, the other perspective cannot be overlooked.