Advertising is becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

In these days and ages, it is true that advertisement is becoming a usual part of human daily lives. While I accept that there are some benefits to this, I would argue that this is a negative development. On the one hand, there are two major advantages, including providing information and entertaining. Firstly, advertising plays a crucial role in spreading awareness about new products and services. In addition, it provides consumers with various options available in the market. Secondly, messages can be provided through advertisement in a unique way, both entertaining and educational value are given by this method. For example, a heartwarming Thailand commercial by 7-Eleven about a teacher who devoted all his life to teaching has taught the consumer to always respect and appreciate their teachers. On the other hand, I believe that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. The main basis is probably that this type of promotion can manipulate consumers' perceptions. By this, I mean that the advertisement may not always reflect the reality and the quality of the product, leading to dissatisfaction and disappointment. Furthermore, persuasive commercials can lead to overconsumption, becoming a significant driver for some people buying more than what they actually need. This would have a detrimental impact on the environment because the majority of people tend to throw away products that are not essential which may lead to a massive amount of waste output and contribute to a throwaway culture. In conclusion, I would argue that the disadvantages do outweigh the advantages so this is a negative development.