Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Owing to the exponential development of technology, including smartphones, more and more youngsters nowadays can seamlessly get access to and use them excessively. This essay will first suggest that the primary factors of this issue explain why this phenomenon is generally a negative development. First and foremost, the main cause of kids dwelling too much on their phones is that designed algorithms control apps like social media or video games. In other words, the app developers are skilled in delivering engrossing content to keep youngsters curious and glued to their phones all the time. On top of that, lack of parental supervision and guidance also contribute to this phenomenon. Many parents, particularly the young ones, do not have time limitations or internet education and instead rely on digital apps too much to entertain their children. My 5-year-old niece, for example, is inseparable from her smartphone as her parent gave her access to it almost every time, and she will throw tantrum if she cannot have the phone. On that account, this phenomenon is viewed as a negative trend due to its detrimental impact on children’s social life. Nowadays, most teenagers have signed up for social media for numerous reasons and they oftentimes find virtual interaction more engrossing than in-person meetings. As a result, these youngsters are too lazy to interact or spend time with people in real life. This will lead to another consequence where they are lack of vigilance towards possible crimes committed by internet acquaintances. For instance, plenty of fraud and sexual harassment cases are happening in Indonesia after virtual communication through the internet. To conclude, the advent of technology has encouraged children to dwell on their smartphones due to apps that are designed to attract their curiosity and lack of parental direction. Therefore, this is a negative trend as these kids will face a setback in socializing with people in real life.