Today’s food travels thousands of miles before it reaches customers. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

Owing to modern technological advancement, people nowadays are able to consume food which either imported from foreign nations or other cities. Even though this circumstance has some benefits, I still conceive that its shortcomings are far more immense. To commence with, in my opinion, this trend mainly brings about two favourable consequences. First and foremost, cusine delivered from various areas in this world allows the populations in the nation have more and more alternatives. For instance, these days, when shopping at a supermarket, clients can select and purchase diversely imported food goods available for them. Secondly, exporting foodstuff also boosts the local farmers who also obtain more stable incomes since nowadays most of the ingredients used for cooking cusine are extensively cultivated and harvested in countrysides rather than downtowns. As a result, in order to produce foodstuff, many manufacturers have to purchase the ingredients from them. On the flip side, this phenomenon still conduces to unpleasing aftermath. For example, it is undeniable that conveying all of these merchandise from one place to other places requires burning more fuel from transportation which is extremely detrimental to the environment causing an increase in carbon emissions afterwards. Although this problem seems to be diminutive, actually, it is the most serious and vital issue humans have to address it as soon as possible because it hugely affects every living on our planet. To conclude, transporting food products from other areas has both advantageous and disadvantageous outcomes. Nevertheless, from my perspective, it seems that the negative will outweigh the positive ones.