Some people say that having a lot of TV channels is good, while others argue that it reduces the quality of programs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Entertainment is part and parcel of our lives. So, TV plays a vital role in keeping people entertained. With time, the TV industry has grown significantly. There are numerous channels to decide from what we can watch. Let us discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having excess channels. Let us throw some light on the first opinion that more TV channels are good. As the audience is vast, a greater number of channels mean everyone gets the opportunity to watch the channels of one’s own choice. In other words, we all know that cartoon channels are liked by kids whereas news and sports channels are mostly viewed by adults. Moreover, having various programs for movies, education or sports keep everyone's interest and does not let them get bored of a particular thing. For instance, there are four channels playing the same movie starting at different times for a day, so we can watch it from any part where we missed it. It lends a helping hand in entertaining all age groups. Now, let us elaborate on the second opinion that more and more channels are reducing the quality of programs. Due to the introduction of new channels, there is cutthroat competition between production houses to get more viewers on their channels. In order to do that, they have to telecast different kinds of TV entertainment. Consequently, they focus more on quantity, rather than quality. At the same time, having multiple news channels showing the same news repeatedly gets boring. In the race to get more viewers, some channels telecast programs and things that are not advisable for children. This negatively impacts the youngsters, and they tend to waste a lot of time. Due to more channels, there is misguidance. Having more channels confuse people, they tend to forget what they have watched and what not. To summarize, it can be concluded that having multiple channel options has its merits and demerits. Each channel should have its uniqueness and producers should take this into account.