The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A massive surge of private vehicles in our modern society stems from necessity. Since urban sprawl is becoming more rampant, people need a reliable transportation solution. Consequently, private vehicles are considered to be the most efficient. Yet, the excessive amount of it leads to various complex issues. Therefore, I agree that a rather binding, stricter constitution is needed to regulate the possession of it and shift the attention to a much more inclusive solution. Traffic congestion has become a problem for many metropolitan cities around the world. Considering the amount of time we waste on the road. As a result, this phenomenon has reduced our productivity and thus jacked up the production cost of many businesses, hindering us from achieving more significant profit. Not only that, congestion has proven to be one of the main reasons for road accidents yearly. Hence, in Indonesia, for example, the state incurs more than Rp70 trillion as a result of the Jakarta road jam. Unregulated car ownership is also the reason for our widening welfare gap. Not only that, but the rise of private vehicles triggers the enlargement of road sizes and parking lots, further shrinking the community space. Moreover, it would also discriminate against vulnerable individuals. With barely any option to commute from one place to another, its absence also robs them of greater work opportunities. In conclusion, even though the ownership of private transportation may help us in supporting our day-to-day life, the benefit of it hardly resonates in a collective way as it can only be felt by those who have enough privilege to enjoy it. Disadvantaged groups of people would reap more benefits with the development of proper public transportation.