In many countries paying things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Nowadays, making payments via mobile applications is widely used globally. From my point of view, using this kind of technology has more benefits than drawbacks. In the essay, both sides of this development will be discussed before reaching a conclusion. On the one hand, it is undeniable that cutting-edge technology brings a lot of benefits to societies. Particularly, changing the way of purchasing things by mobile applications. Customers can purchase and make payment transactions faster and easier by using QR code payment. It is more convenient to secure a payment by using mobile phone apps. This will lead us to cashless societies. In addition, using e-wallet will give rewards to users which means they can redeem rewards and earn more benefits. Moving to the banking views, applying technology like mobile apps will reduce both operation and settlement processes. Consequently, it will cut costs for banks. For example, True wallet, a leading e-wallet apps in Thailand, provides several features to make a convenient payment, like QR code payment and scanning barcode. On the other hand, there are only few drawbacks of the usage of these apps. Firstly, it is not friendly to all users such as elderly people, children, disabilities people, etc. Secondly, although theses application are provided by trusted banks or financial firms, frauds are unavoidable. Therefore, to protect frauds, a high security must be implemented. For instance, two-factors-authentication is a mandatory for any payment apps. Before users can login these apps, they have to verify their authentication combining both something you know and something you have; sometimes using user’s biometric and user’s password. In conclusion, a development of electronic payment has both advantages and disadvantages. However, this advantages outweigh disadvantages because it created more benefits to societies.