Some people think that everyone has the right to have access to university education, and that government should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is unquestionable that every citizen should have equal opportunities to follow higher education. I believe that the government should allow students to attend university free of charge. However, I disagree with the policy of providing free higher education for all students regardless of their financial background. Supplying free tertiary education for students is a sensible national investment. Numerous students, if not obliged to pay tuition fees can afford to cover their living costs; thereby concentrating on academic performance or cultivating their professional skills. Therefore, they may be well qualified for future employment. Additionally, university graduates who have received governmental grants for all university tuition fees can become productive citizens contributing to social betterment. More specifically, after graduation from university, some graduates may become loyal and strong-willed soldiers who could ensure national security and sovereignty or teachers serving to raise people’s intellectual levels and shape young generations’ behavioural patterns. However, I oppose the idea of providing tuition fees subsidies for all students irrespective of whether they are rich or poor. Several learners who live in poverty are entitled to free tertiary education although they have no desire to enrich academic knowledge or professional skills. In this case, this policy proves to be a waste of money. Another explanation is that no sooner do national leaders pay all tuition fees for university education than there is a high likelihood of a deficiency in the state budget for community health services or public transport services which also require a huge amount of fund investment from the government for the benefits of the whole society. In conclusion, in my view, there are several benefits of free education at the university level. However, I disapprove that all students have free higher education opportunities no matter how rich or poor they are