Violence in media promote violence in society. To what extent you agree or disagree?

News showing act of violence do put the society in danger of encouraging violence on the field. I do agree to the statement that, acts of crime, that are reported on the news channels, are the reason behind increased criminal activities in the country. Reporters, in order to get the breaking news, go to any extent. They often twist the actual news in a way to suit the agenda that they wish to drive. The truth often gets lost in these half cooked stories. To give an example,there was a recent incident of a woman beating up a cab driver on the road, which had made the headlines on national television. The story was narrated as a success of woman power and the act of woman was widely celebrated for a few days. This would have led to more women beating up more cab drivers, just to get some attention on the TV. Another example of unethical reporting is that of any religious violence. Thats That a ticking bomb. If half true news are believed in, then people from both religions, can come on road and there can be riots which can further disturb the social balance. In earlier days, the role of mediums was only restricted to providing information of any inportant development in the country. It could be positive or negative. But in today's world of TRP, where the advertisement rates are decided by the viewership, information is frequently spiced up to make the incident more exciting. Such propoganda often leaves the society at risk of a emotional meltdown which often results in a reaction by the opposite party. To conclude, I would say that, it is important for channels to identify their role of bradcasting information and leave it to the wisdom of common public to interpret, analyse a particular piece of knowledge and make sense out of that. Media should stop being a judge.