It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct (e.g. dinosaur, dodo…) There is no reason why people should try to prevent this from happening. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely acknowledged that animals are naturally pushed closer to the brink of extinction and there is no point in curbing this for humans. I personally disagree with this conviction and will support my argument in the essay below. Although some species, namely dinosaurs, disappeared by the virtue of natural factors such as disasters or climate change, it is undeniable that the main underlying roots for the progressive extinctions nowadays are human impacts. There is an eclectic mix of human activities that wreak havoc on not only the population but also the shelter of wild animals involved in various aspects in light of their ceaseless pursuit of urban sprawl. For instance, the increasingly dire illegal rhino horn trade in Vietnam for the belief of its promising medical value eventually resulted in the extinction of this species in this country in 2010. What’s more, the pressing global warming caused by ever-growing industrial detrimental impacts is posing a threat to the natural habitat for wild animals living in cold deserted areas such as penguins and bears in the North pole. Hence, it is unwise to claim that humans take no responsibility for the demise of thousands of species. As a result, humans ought to endeavor to combat the extinction of some animals, or else the serious consequences will bloom, which jeopardizes humankind itself. There would be disruptions in the food chain triggered as a single wild species is missing in the ecosystem leading to others being pushed to the verge of extinction. Pollinating insects like bumblebees can be cited as a notable example since they play an integral role in the growth of crops. Thus, the decline of this has understandably provoked a widespread concern regarding agriculture productivity. All in all, unless some measures are taken, the inseparable relationship between the human race and wildlife will arise and fatally harm the ecosystem. The disappearance of many animal species does not always occur as a natural process but as a consequence of our doings. It is our obligation to help preserve wild animals because their extinction will have a severe influence on many important aspects of our lives.