The key to solving environmental problems is for the present generation to sacrifice their convenient way of life for the sake of future generations. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often argued that the best way of fighting environmental issues is for people of today to give up their convenience of life in order to make the fate of future generations better. I do not agree with this opinion and this essay will examine the reasons for such a point. The goal of every person in the world is to live happily. That’s why sacrificing their comfort for the sake of other people is wrong. I believe that even small changes in the behaviour of the present generation can save nature without giving up luxuries. For instance, turning off the water tap while brushing teeth can save millions of litres of water each year. Even this tiny step can help the planet. Secondly, we cannot ensure the comfort of all future generations by reducing the level of our lives now, as it is just impossible. The number of natural resources will get lower and lower over the decades in any case. However, what I find more useful is not sacrificing our comfort, but creating solutions to get back everything that people have consumed. For example, living without paper in order to save trees is a bit weird, but buying paper and planting a tree after that is a wonderful decision. Thus, creating solutions for returning natural resources is a better decision. In conclusion, I strongly believe that giving up the convenience of life of the present generation in order to make the lives of future better is superfluous, as even small alterations in modern lifestyle can change the world.