In the future, more people will choose to go on holidays in their own country and not travel abroad on holiday. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a widely held assumption that future holiday makers will select destinations in their countries of origin rather than overseas. In this essay, I agree with this view because travelling abroad is costly, and many countries are now revamping their local tourism industries to attract more visitors. Making a decision to travel abroad has become a challenge for many people, requiring close calculation and planning. This is due to the rising cost of flights, accommodation and activities abroad, as travel companies are charging exorbitant prices for their services. Tourist attractions like Dubai, London and Africa were easily accessible in the past, attracting a large contingent of foreign nationals, but people are now considering local alternatives, which they consider to be more convenient, that is, closer, cheaper and easier to navigate compared to foreign places. In addition, many countries worldwide have been developing proactive tourism policies, resulting in more marketing and recalibration of the local scenery and wildlife. Likewise, the uptake from local visitors has been on the rise in many countries. In Zimbabwe, for instance, recent media reports revealed that Zimbabwean citizens were now recording the highest visits to the Victoria Falls, one of the seven wonders of the world; most discussions pointed to the government wanting to create favourable environments to promote the continued inflow of local guests to an area once known to be the mainstay of internationals. This policy direction is targeted at the future based on the analysis of current trends. In conclusion, the view that in the future, more people will choose to go on vacation in their own country and not travel abroad is indisputable. This is due to the rising cost of tourism and local efforts by different states to make their indigenous places attractive to local guests.