Some people think that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the government instead of private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

Scientific research has a significant impact on humanity’s development. Some individuals believe that governments, not private companies, should conduct and control research activities. From my perspective, I think scientific studies should be involved by both the authorities and private businesses. To begin with, most of the researches carried out and controlled by governments can benefit society as a whole. As authorities of different countries can co-operate through the deeply and widely investigations and these kinds of studies require great financial support, which can only be afforted by the government. For example, the satellite is developed as a modern form of communication between people all over the world. In addition, government-controlled scientific research will ensure that reliable and ethical methods are used. Therefore, the risk of these studies being used for nefarious purposes will be reduced. Private companies, on the other hand, can do research without government oversight. It is indisputable that, since the best private research institutes participated in scientific studies, they would make numerous benificial scientific discoveries with high-quality and reliable efficacy. For instance, the invention of mRNA technology by BioNTech, a private biotechnology company, provided a novel approach to Covid-19 vaccinations which is the crucial solution to combat the pandemic. Furthermore, with the aim of maximizing profit, private enterprises can conduct scientific studies to help them develop their own items and increase their market shares. In conclusion, I believe that both governments and private firms have the right and obligation to conduct research activities. As a result, they will be able to maximise their contribution to the society’s growth.