Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract more local people to these museums?

In today’s development era, it is undeniable that there is a multitude of museums and historical relics that seem to be more appealing to tourists rather than local citizens. This essay will discuss some related causes and the measures that the government and the local authorities can take to tackle this phenomenon. There are two main causes of these problems. The primary reason is due to local inhabitants having grown up in their area so they are too familiar with their own land, and they hold a strong belief that they have a profound insight into not only their historical inheritance but also traditional culture. In comparison with indigenous, tourists are more attached to museums and historical locations as they desire to explore new land, integrate into an alien culture, and so on. Secondly, today’s monuments are monotonous, unattractive, and do not change after a long period of operation, while many museums, because of limited funds, often have few artifacts and not enough docents. There is a wide range of feasible solutions that should be taken into account to attract more locals to pay a visit to museums and historical sites in their town. The first solution is that the government should allocate more funding to invest in refurbishing, buying more artifacts, and hiring professional tour guides. In regards to the local authorities, they can lend a helping hand by organizing community events held at places of tourist attractions such as historical buildings and ancient spots to raise locals’ awareness about their traditional civilization. These mentioned measures can help stimulate more and more local dwellers’ interest in regional historical sites. In conclusion, it is true that today’s locals tend not to visit historical locations because of some factors. To address this issue, governments and local authorities should join hands to take some steps to make ancient sites attractive to the locals.