Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is an idea that says most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals. Although almost everyone that attends a festival wants to enjoy it, I believe that most of them know the meaning of the festivals. I will explain my opinion with two real experiences. Firstly, about traditional festivals; in my country, we have a great traditional celebration every year at the beginning of spring, which is called Norouz. People in Iran and some countries that speak in the Persian language celebrate Norouz with special customs. For example, they completely clean their houses before Norouz, buy new clothes and make everything new if it is possible. These behaviours come from an ancient belief, that says we must renovate everything all around us, like nature at the start of the year. There are a lot of stories and legends about Norouz that people remember. Secondly, I talk about a well-known religious festival in Iran and some Muslim countries, especially those which are Shia; The Moharram decade is a religious festival that most people wear black clothes and go to the mosque and participate in religious ceremonies in that period. Most people, however, attend this festival to please themselves, but almost all of them know the meaning of it. I believe that anybody who takes part in this event knows its meaning. In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the idea that most people have forgotten the principle of the subject of traditional or religious festivals.