Some people think that it is beneficial for children to do paid work, while others think that it can be harmful for children. What are the advantages and disadvantages of children doing paid work?

In recent years, the number of children who get involved in paid work has significantly improved. [Background sentence] While some people think that it is advantageous for them in many ways, others are of the opinion that this can bring out a set of concerns. [paraphrase] To begin with, one benefit of doing paid work is that this enables children to boost their employability. This is because when they take part in jobs, they not only learn necessary practical skills such as computer skills, but they also acquire certain social skills such as managing customers. It is often seen that employers, nowadays, look for the candidates who have both practical skills and good academic qualifications. Besides, when they work hard, they can understand the value of money and learn important money management skills because they realize that money does not come without putting any effort. Therefore, they don’t spend money on unnecessary items whereas their peers not doing any work possess items that they use very rarely. However, paid work can also cause some problems for children. Firstly, their main duty is to study hard and prepare for the future, but if they somehow focus on money too much, their academic results can be affected. If this happened, the effects could turn out to be very destructive for their career because with a poor result, they will not be able to enroll at a top university in their country. Another negative outcome is that they might be negatively affected by their colleagues. Children are always vulnerable, and they prefer to follow adults, so if the adults in their workplace have some bad habits like drug addiction or even smoking, there is a risk that they can copy them. To sum up, despite the advantages of children doing paid work, it is important to consider its drawbacks otherwise our beloved children might lose their career path as there is a chance of making poor academic results and getting involved in anti-social behaviors.