Some people believe that a person’s culture is defined by their country of origin, while others believe that has only a minor influence. Discuss both views and give your opinion

People have different views about the impact of birthplace on their culture. While some people think that the country of origin would have an effect on a person’s culture, others are of the opinion that it has little impact. I agree with the latter statement as I believe that there are other factors that influence more on our culture. On the one hand, the birthplace would have impacts on some aspects of a person’s believes and traditions. When an individual is born in a country, some of their characteristics are created. Language is one of the examples that children were not able to select from an early age. Indeed, the mother tongue is determined by their country of origin. Religion is another example that cannot be selected by people in their childhood. For instance, an adult girl who was born and grown in an Islamic community has to cover her head in public places. Therefore, the country of origin might influence a person’s culture to a great extent. On the other hand, the society that someone lives in would have more impacts on their culture. Firstly, the regulations of society would affect an individual’s behaviour. For instance, a woman who has to wear hijabs would be able to wear clothes freely if she lives in another country. Secondly, the local customs would be an influential factor as well. For example, if a person migrates to the Netherland, riding a bicycle would be their main transportation vehicle to commute to work. Finally, the people ’s lifestyle could also be altered in the exposure to the new environment. In such cases, they might tend to consume more or less healthy foods. In conclusion, although the culture of people is affected by their country of origin, it seems to me that their living places have more impact on it.