Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and provide them with basic assistance such as food and housing. To what extend do you agree or disagree??

It is argued that countries with high GDP should allow entering more refugees and support them with necessities such as food or shelter. This essay strongly agrees with that statement because these are basic human rights to have food or a place to live, and providing help to refugees at the early stage of settlement gives them a higher chance to successfully settle in a new country. Firstly, it is a fundamental human right to be fed and had own dwelling. Several countries around the world signed a declaration of human rights that states that no one should struggle with starvation or a place to stay. This causes an opportunity for people who are refugees to have a chance for a better life in much safer settings. For example, after World War II, Canada proclaimed a charter of human rights which is currently part of Canada’s constitution. It clearly states that the government is obliged to provide food and shelter to every refugee who arrives in the country. Another reason why rich countries should accept more refugees is related to the gains that they can generate for their new countries in the future. By admitting more refugees and helping them with their basic needs, countries encourage and support those who arrived to settle and to become citizens in the future. This will create a workforce that can generate more taxes paid to the government. For instance, many refugees in countries such as Australia or Canada established successful and long-lasting careers in many well-paid professions, which increased the amount of taxes paid to the revenue agencies. To conclude, rich countries should provide help to every refugee who seeks food or a safe place because it is a basic human right, and also can increase countries ’ tax income in the future.