Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Traditional festivals carry a significant number of meanings for the people in a certain region. Indeed, each particular celebration holds a different story and message which accounts for the reason why it is extremely important. However, some people believe that these meanings have started to fade away because individuals have their own way to celebrate. I partly agree with this statement because only a small group of ignorant people can not speak for the whole. On the one hand, it is admitted that nowadays, younger generations do not fully comprehend the meaning behind traditional occasions probably because they regard such ways of celebration are outdated and untrendy. Millennials or Generation Z, in particular, tend to easily follow trends and are more likely to express themselves by going against the old pattern. Therefore, these youngsters take advantage of special celebrations to go to the bar or club to enjoy themselves. This action has distorted the meaning behind those traditional festivals. However, on a societal level, a majority of people still celebrate national festivals in the most traditional way. For instance, during Lunar New Year, Vietnamese people remember to wear the traditional outfits namely ‘ao dai’ and decorate their house with the colour of red as a custom way of bringing luck and prosperity into their house. Moreover, in every corner of the streets the national flower of Vietnam is also displayed. In short, the way the masses value their traditional festivals will always be presented through the decoration, the ambience and the customs. To conclude, I only agree to a certain level that there is a small community, especially younger generations who forgot the valuable meaning behind nation festivals by taking advantage of it to enjoy their own way, but this can be changed by education. Yet the majority still highly regards the traditional way of celebrating important festivals, reflected by the way they dress and other activities that are similar to the past.