Teachers are not as important as they used to be because of the choice of other alternatives for students, such as online teaching. To what extent to do you agree of disagree?

Nowadays, due to advancements in technology, new ways of learning such as online classes, have become more popular among students. Some people argue that because of this new trend, teachers are less important in the academic field. I completely disagree with this statement, as in my view even though online classes are a powerful tool of learning, the role of teachers is still fundamental to the development of students. To begin with, students tend to spend the majority of their time away from home at schools or even in online classes. Thus, teachers have a fundamental role in the student's life since they can not only teach subjects of schools but also identify any difficulties and provide some support that learns would need during their academic life, for instance, when students feel confused about how career they should follow, teachers can provide some personal experience. Furthermore, it can be almost impossible for most people to learn new skills without help from someone, and professors who spend years learning techniques of how humans acquire skills is definitely the best person to help us. In addition to that, even though students choose to have online classes instead of presential ones, this way of learning also needs to be done by a teacher. Moreover, the relationship among students and teachers in online classes can be as strong as in presential. For instance, I have online classes every week with a teacher that I have never met presently however, we have a close relationship as she is always able to identify my weakness and strengths, not only about the classes ' subject but also my personal issues. To sum up, having online classes is in most cases, is extremely convenient and became more popular after COVID 19. However, from my point of view, the role of teachers has always been fundamental to the lives of students, regardless of the way students choose to have classes.