Young people are often influenced in their behaviors by others in the same age group. Some argue that peer pressure is important while others feel it has distinct disadvantages. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

Peer pressure leads to both positive and negative development, depending on the situation where the pressure is being applied. This essay will argue that the disadvantages of peer pressure do not outweigh its advantages. The essay will first demonstrate that because of the group pressure, all the members overperform in their careers just out of fear of being left out, followed by some drawbacks that lead to anxiety and depression. To begin with, social pressure plays a significant role in individuals' overall growth and development. Young people are often influenced in their behaviours by others in the same age group just because they want to cope with their friends; they don't want to feel left alone in their group. For instance, in the group of scholars, everyone will be motivated to perform well in their studies to compete with their peers because of peer influence. In addition, peer pressure creates a sense of competency among the group of people, and to beat the rest and perform well, the individual's inner confidence to compete increases. For example, in a group of five adults, if four are millionaires, the fifth will eventually be a millionaire because of peer pressure. The sense of competition does not often lead to positive development; it also has a few drawbacks. During their teenage years, children try to give their best because of social pressure, but sometimes, even after trying their best, they are not able to achieve the desired results. Once going through this phase, they will be the victim of anxiety and depression. According to a recent survey by BBC, 70% of young kids are not in a good state of mind because of peer pressure. To recapitulate, social pressure has both benefits and drawbacks; it depends on every individual. In the bigger picture, it has more positivity and helps people to stay motivated and perform well in their lives.