People these days watch TV, films and other programs alone rather than with other people. Do this advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays people prefer to watch movies and TV shows by themself, rather than with some company. Looking at this trend, there are a lot of pros and cons, but nonetheless, I believe that there are more downsides to watching TV programs alone. To begin with, the main benefit to watching movies and series alone is not having anyone that could interrupt you with questions and talking while watching your movie or tv show. For instance, I hate watching movies with my mother, because she cannot stop asking questions during any movie that we are watching, and she spoils the pleasure of watching a movie. Another positive aspect of this trend is that when you are alone, you can have your own ritual when watching TV, such as making some delicious snacks like popcorns or nacho chips dipped in cheese, and that could be disrupted when there are some other people. To illustrate, my sister loves to make popcorns when she is watching something, but her boyfriend is always on a diet, so when they watch something together, she is not making any snacks. On the other hand, there are a lot of disadvantages as well. Firstly, when something interesting happens in a movie, you do not have anyone by your side that you can talk to about it. Like, when watching a tv show, and something amazing is happening such as the main characters are finally back together after four seasons of that tv show, you feel wonderful and happy, but no one can relate to you because they did not watch it with you and, therefore, they do not understand what are you feeling. Secondly, it is unhealthy to get used to watching everything alone, because it can distance us from our friends, family or anyone else. Hence, we can feel lonely and depressed. To sum up, it has become usual that people would more likely choose to watch some movie or tv show alone, than with someone. Although both sides have positive and negative aspects, I firmly believe that when you look at the whole picture, there are more drawbacks to this trend.