International travel is becoming cheaper than before, so more and more countries open their doors to tourists. Do the advantages of the increased tourism outweigh the disadvantages?

The advancement of science and technology has led to the availability of mass transit for all the means of transport, as such, travel is now cheaper. Also due to the benefits of tourism many nations are now more open to foreigners though, some believe that it is of disadvantage, I do believe that the increase in tourism is more of merit than a demerit. Tourism is of great economic and educational advantage for society. For instance, many nations get their major income from tourism by generating revenue through tax. Also tourists are usually not very prudent as they tend to spend freely while on holiday. Travelling is also of great educational advantage as it enables travellers to learn about the different cultures of the world and see sites that they could have only read in books. Consequently, it may foster respect and appreciation of other people's way of life and in the same vein improve the economy of countries. The progression of tourism may be of certain disadvantages like increase in crime rate and environmental degradation. For example, nations that have tourist attractions in local areas may experience an upward trend in robbery incidents. This is not only because the visitors are vulnerable by being in unfamiliar places but also due to the display of expensive items like cameras and jewellery by the foreigners. Similarly, many visitors destroy natural sites like the beach due to the improper disposal of their waste, as such, this leads to the pollution of these resources. However, this does not override the educational, economic and cultural benefits of tourism as these disadvantages can be controlled. To conclude, having discussed both ends,I believe that, while there are certain demerits that comes with visiting other countries, however, the benefits are more predominant. To this end, I believe, that the disadvantages can be curbed and they are not enough to outweigh the educational and financial advantages of tourism.