Some people think that criminal behaviour has genetic causes. Others believe that it is circumstances that lead people to commit a crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

According to some, criminals commit a crime due to genetic characteristics, while others disagree and state that the reasons for such actions lay on the surface. I believe that genetics is slightly involved in criminal behavior, and we should rely more on the circumstances of each case and its offender. To begin with, some psychologists and ordinary people tend to think that crime has a genetic connection and we should pay more attention to those children, whose parents were in jail or had a suspended sentence. Moreover, some genetic illnesses may become a reason for an offence. For example, according to the research of the Russian sociological agency, 35% of juvenile delinquents were born and raised in families of former criminals. Besides, most famous maniacs like Ted Bandy or Andrey Chikatilo, soviet serial criminal, had different mental disorders, such as bipolar disorder or psychopathy. However, there are tons of examples, when a criminal was born in a rich lovely family, had everything that they need, but still committed terrific homicides. As well as in families from poor neighborhoods or in families with repeated offenders children grow up being honest and decent, and not being involved in any crimes. For instance, last year Kirill Grechkin, a son of the Russian millionaire was accused in drag trafficking, and was assigned for 7 years. In comparison, Roman Abramovich, who is the owner of the football team and the Russian oligarch, was born and lived in jail for 5 years because both of his parents were scammers. Those examples illustrate the absence of connection between social status and determination for committing a crime. In conclusion, some criminals have genetic features that may push them into the world of criminality. Nevertheless, I suppose that we should take into consideration external reasons over internal ones.