Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Conducting scientific research is a rather complicated process and requires a high degree of attention to avoid undesirable consequences. It is pointed out that when an investigation is initiated in a scientific field, the government should oversee and manage the process, not non-governmental institutions. I believe that this argument is valid in many ways and I agree with it wholeheartedly. It is plausible that private companies are usually concerned with making the most profit possible in any way they can, as they are driven by self-interest. There are a number of legal and ethical rules that should be followed by researchers when conducting experiments. I believe that private companies can violate these rules to achieve their goals. For illustration, some cosmetic companies use animals such as rabbits or rats in their experiments while testing their products to evaluate which animal experiments are totally against the ethical rules. Moreover, the laboratories should have all the filtering and cleaning systems in order not to destroy the environment. However, there is no question that one of the main reasons for the pollution of the oceans is the unfiltered waste produced by private factories because they are not willing to spend more money to separate their waste from harmful ingredients. From another point of view, scientific research should be controlled by the government to eliminate some inequalities between people in the society. If a private institution successfully completes scientific research, it can market its results by drastically increasing the cost beyond the actual price. To give a clear example: Some private pharmaceutical companies sell their drugs at inflated prices to make a profit. Apart from this, some private companies only allow special customers with high status in the public to buy their high quality products, and this creates an unfair situation among the citizens. For example, a chemical company may produce a specially designed polymer substance for its special customers. In conclusion, scientific research requires a high level of attention because it can irrevocably contribute to some disadvantages. I believe that such research should be carried out by the authorities. It should be remembered that private companies are created by their founders to achieve personal goals.